French Inspiration

It has to be said that I am a bit of a Francophile. A bit. I am currently reading When French Women Cook, A Gastronomic Memoir by Madeleine Kamman and I am head over heels in love with this book, I also just finished Stephane Reynaud’s French Feasts, and um, I do not plan to ever stop reading French cookbooks from cover to cover while lying in bed. I cannot explain what it is- just soooo something, something to me about a French cookbook. Of course there are the lovely pictures, and no doubt the recipes, the inspiring words, but really they make me long to live in France, they make me want to be a French housewife, they make me want better butter, they make me love life more….so with that I give you Lentils and Sausages. Humble but with such attitude. Pour a glass of something lovely and dream on. P.S. This is dedicated to my dear Mom, who has gone one year from today. She was not French. She was Welsh and had a big appetite for life, and always, always for a good plate of delicious food. I love you Mom.

 For 2 hungry people…Saute 1 large shallot in hot extra virgin olive oil/ season with s+p/ add fresh chopped rosemary, fresh thyme sprigs, and 3 smashed and chopped garlic cloves/ add 2 cups french lentils and stir to coat/ chicken stock next, about 3 cups- bring to a bubble/ simmer with lid on until lentils are no longer hard-which is roughly 35 minutes give or take/ meanwhile sear 6 pricked sausages-french of course- if you can get your hands on some really good ones, if not Sweet Italian are nice/ add 2 chopped shallots and let saute/ remove sausages to a plate and deglaze the pan with white wine/ add in a few spoonfuls of good Dijon mustard and stir/ add in heavy cream or half and half and let reduce a bit/ sausages back in until cooked through/ serve lentils, sauced sausages on top, a good crusty baguette, and some roasted potatoes/wine+beer of your choosing….absolute heaven.

xxx

 

2 responses to “French Inspiration”

  1. pierreprospero says :

    LE PETIT SALé AUX LENTILLES !!!!!!!!
    parfait pour l’hiver 🙂

Leave a Reply

